Asia Cup 2023: Babar Azam’s Chance to Surpass Virat Kohli’s Unprecedented Record in the Epic IND vs PAK Encounter

Asia, Azams, Babar, chance, Cup, Encounter, Epic, IND, Kohlis, PAK, Record, Surpass, Unprecedented, Virat

Asia Cup 2023: Babar Azam can break Virat Kohli’s unique record in IND vs PAK clash

Asia Cup 2023: Babar Azam can break Virat Kohli’s unique record in IND vs PAK clash

Pakistan captain Babar Azam on the verge of breaking Virat Kohli’s record

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam is on the verge of breaking Indian star batter Virat Kohli’s record of fastest to 2000 runs as a captain and Babar can achieve this feat in the iconic Pakistan vs. India clash in Kandy on Saturday. Babar is currently on 1994 runs from 30 innings whereas the former Indian skipper took 36 innings to go past the 2000 runs mark.

Babar Azam breaks another record in Asia Cup

The Pakistan captain also broke another record on Wednesday when he scored his 19th ODI century in the inaugural match of the Asia Cup. He became the fastest player to achieve the 19 hundreds surpassing South Africa’s Hasim Amla who took 104 innings while Babar did it in 102. Kohli took 124 innings to do the same.

Pakistan’s dominant win over Nepal

Pakistan crushed minnows Nepal by a huge margin of 238 runs, with Babar Azam leading the charge. Babar smashed 151, his 19th ODI century, while Iftikhar Ahmed (109 not out) hit his maiden ODI ton to power Pakistan to an imposing total of 342 for six after opting to bat.

Quotes from Babar Azam after the match

“This game was good preparation for the India game because it gave us confidence. We want to give 100 per cent every match, hope to do that there as well,” Babar said after the end of the match.

Impressive partnerships and bowling performance

  • Babar Azam was involved in two crucial partnerships – first stitching 86 runs with Mohammad Rizwan (44 off 50) and then sharing a whirlwind 214 runs for the fifth wicket with Iftikhar Ahmed.
  • Nepal were bowled out for just 104 in 23.4 overs with Shadab Khan taking four wickets and Shaheen Shah Afridi and Haris Rauf claiming two each.

First published on: 31-08-2023 at 10:15 IST

Leave a Comment